Home Election Edo Guber: 8 Former LG Chairmen Dump Obaseki, Return to APC

Edo Guber: 8 Former LG Chairmen Dump Obaseki, Return to APC

by Editor
0 comment

As the September 21, 2024, governorship election approaches in Edo State, eight former local government chairmen have abandoned Governor Godwin Obaseki of the PDP and returned to the APC, pledging support to work for the victory of the party and its candidate, Senator Monday Okpeholo.


The former chairmen earlier decamped with Gov Obaseki to the PDP after he was disqualified from contesting the 2020 governorship election in the APC following a supremacy battle with his erstwhile godfather, Senator Adams Oshiomhole.


The defectors are John Osi Akhigbe, former Chairman of Etsako Central LGA; Mrs Ruth Osahor (Esan West); Napoleon Agbama (Uhunmwonde); Dr Josie Ogedegbe (Igueben); Andrew Osigwe (Owan East); Scott Ogbemudia (Ovia North East); Austin Okoibhole (Esan North East); and Frank Ilaboya (Owan West).


Receiving the defectors, the APC leader in the state, Adams Oshiomhole, accompanied by the party’s candidate and his running mate, Senator Okpeholo and Denis Idahosa respectively, as well as the state’s party Chairman, Jarret Tenabe, described the former local government chairmen’s defection as a homecoming.


Speaking on behalf of the defectors, Ilaboya said, “Coming back home is special for us as we know the worth of the former governor of the state. We are going to work with the APC to ensure that the Sen Okpebholo/Hon Idahosa project is realised in flying colours during the election.”

You may also like

©2024. Stallion Times Media Services Ltd. All Rights Reserved.