Home Politics Dino Melaye Wins Kogi PDP Governorship Ticket

Dino Melaye Wins Kogi PDP Governorship Ticket

by Editor
0 comment

By Ishaq Dan-Imam, Lokoja

Senator Dino Melaye who represented Kogi West at the National Assembly in the 8th and 9th Senate has been declared the winner of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Governorship ticket for Kogi State, north-central Nigeria.

About 27 persons had picked up Expression of Interest forms to contest in the primary elections.

Melaye in a Congress held at Kefas Multipurpose Hall on Sunday, scored over fifty percent of the votes cast.

The Returning Officer for the election who announced the result on Sunday evening said Senator Dino Melaye scored 313 votes against Idoko Ilonah’s 124 votes, who came second in the election.

Others who took part in the election included the former deputy governor of Kogi State Architect Yomi Awoniyi, who scored 77 votes while Musa Wada, scored 56 votes.

The election featured several notable personalities aside from the former Senator, including former Senator Attai Aidoko, Kabir Usman, Abdullahi Haruna, Zakaria Alfa, Musa Wada, Bolu Femi, and Idoko Idah.

The former governor of Kaduna State, Sen. Ahmed Maikarfi, who is the Chairman Electoral Committee, declared Sen. Melaye as the winner of the election.

The PDP primary was a keenly contested election, though protests over the delegates list almost marred the process.

In the end, the election went on smoothly, with the seamless supervision of the Independent National Electoral Commission, which oversaw the conduct of the Kogi State PDP Governorship primary election amid weeks of political horse-trading.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Update Required Flash plugin