Home National Hassana Abubakar Koko Emeges Chairperson of NAWOJ  in Kebbi

Hassana Abubakar Koko Emeges Chairperson of NAWOJ  in Kebbi

by Editor
0 comment

Khadija Saidu, Birnin Kebbi

Nigeria Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ), Kebbi State Chapter has elected new executive officials to pilot the affairs of the body for the next 4years.

The seven-member EXCO has Hassana Abubakar-Koko, of the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA) Chapel defeated Liatu Agustin Bameyi and emerged as the New Chairperson, while Sabatu Andrew-Machika of Kebbi Radio Broadcasting Cooperation, emerged as the Vice Chairperson.

And Blessing Michael of Kebbi Television chapel emerged (Secretary),

Others who came unopposed are:  Sharifiya Abubakar of the State Information Chapel (Ass. Secretary), Maimuna Usman of the Information chapel (Fin. Secretary), Maryam Abdullahi Zuru of the information chapel (Treasurer), and Mary Magana of Kebbi TV chapel (Auditor).

A National Ex-Officio of NAWOJ, Mrs. Grace Musa, administered the oath of office.

In a brief remark, Mrs. Grace advised the newly elected officials to work towards ensuring the unity of the association.

“You should carry everybody along in respective of your differences and should work assiduously towards the unity and dignity of the association,” she enjoined.

The election was supervised by Alhaji Muhammad Tukur, the Vice President of the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ), Zone A.

In an acceptance speech, the new chairperson, Hassana Abubakar-Koko thanked members for finding them worthy to serve the association and pledged to justify the confidence reposed on them.

“Today’s victory is for every member of the union. I will ensure I work with everybody without any discrimination or religious or tribal inclination.

“I promise to run a transparent administration, most particularly when it comes to decision-making, it will be a unanimous and collective one,” she pledged.

She pledged to run an open-door policy, saying that her EXCO would strive to carry every member along in the scheme of things.

Abubakar-Koko appreciated and thanked NAWOJ, NUJ, and the credential committee for their tireless efforts in ensuring the smooth conduct of the election.

The Chairperson also acknowledged the support of the state government and the First Lady, Dr. Zainab Shinkafi-Bagudu for providing the union with enabling environment for the smooth conduct of the election.

You may also like

Leave a Comment