Home Politics More PDP Members Defect to APC in Sokoto Ahead of 2023 Polls

More PDP Members Defect to APC in Sokoto Ahead of 2023 Polls

by Editor
0 comment
More PDP Members

Musa Na Allah

More members of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Sokoto state have defected to the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) ahead of the 2023 General Elections in the state.

The latest development was happening in Isa Local Government Area in Sokoto Eastern Zone where ward executives of the party in Turba, Bafarawa, and Bargaja have all defected to APC.

According to the defectors, the lack of certainty and trust in the PDP is what necessitated their defection.

In the Turba ward among those who defected include Alhaji  Sa’idu Kyaibaba, the Legal Adviser to PDP in the ward,  Alhaji Umaru Shalla, Financial Secretary, Ibrahim Dadi, Assistant Financial Secretary, Alh. Garba Dan Gambo, Auditor, and Alh Yahuza Sama’ila Gawakuke, a Youth leader in the ward.

Others are Alhaji Garba Kyaibaba, kaiybaba ‘A’ Polling Unit Chairman, Alhaji Ummaru Ajayi, Kyaibaba “B” Polling Unit, Alhaji Danjaji,  Turba town Youth leader, Shallah Polling Unit Chairman Alh. Habibu Shalla, Gidan Kaso town Women leader Hajiya Rabi Kyaibaba and Alh. Sarkin Fawa Madattai, as well as Alh. Yashishi Aliyu, a party official in the area.

Similarly, at Bafarawa ward in the Isa local government area, many leaders have also left  PDP for APC as they largely blamed their leaders at the state level for not showing any concern for their plight or sympathizing with them on issues.

Some of the defectors according to the Special Adviser on New Media, Bashar Abubakar, and Alh. Tanko Suruddubi, PDP youth leader in the area, Alh Ibrahim Dangusau, party official, Alh. Sa’adu Gyalama party official, Alh. Jaji Mosi Suruddubi, Chairman, Makaranta Polling Unit and Alh. Garba Yahaya, Chairman, Maidamisa Polling Unit.

All the defectors were humbly and energetically received into the APC by Alh. Ibrahim Lamido Isa is the candidate for the seat of Senator for the Sokoto East Senatorial District for the forthcoming 2023 elections.

Alh. Ibrahim was represented by the APC chairman of Goronyo Local Government area, Alhaji Kabiru Sarkin Fulani, and a former Chairman of Isa Local Government area, Alhaji Sharifu Abubakar Kamarawa.

The defectors informed the gathering that they abandoned their party as it has been receiving blows from all angles in the state.

They said PDP has woefully failed to deliver on its mandate for almost eight years in Sokoto state.

In another development, leaders of PDP in Bargaja Ward have also dumped the party for APC and restated their unflinching support and loyalty to the candidature of Alh Ibrahim Lamido Isa as Senator in the zone.

The new entrants into the party are Alh. Isah  Garba from Lugu town, Alh. Yahaya Salihu, a youth leader in the area, Alh. Adamu Haruna Arume and Bashar Launa Sabon Hegi, among others.

They attributed their exit from PDP to a lack of wisdom and political will to drive them to the Promised Land.

Speaking on behalf of the APC Senatorial Candidate in the zone, Alhaji Ibrahim Lamido Isa, APC chairman of Goronyo Local Government, Alh Kabiru Sarkin Fulani assured them of equal treatment in the party.

Lamido saluted their courage and the level of commitment they exhibited, just as he challenged them to redouble their efforts towards ensuring the victory of APC in the zone and the state as a whole.

He described the APC structure in the state under Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko as one powerful engine that can hardly break despite all odds.

He assured them that, if given the mandate, he will ensure the provision of myriad dividends of democracy in the area.

You may also like

Leave a Comment