Home Election Osun Guber Poll: INEC declares PDP’s Adeleke winner

Osun Guber Poll: INEC declares PDP’s Adeleke winner

0 comment
Osun Governor - Ademola-Adeleke

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has formally declared Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the governorship election held over the weekend in Osun State.

INEC’s Chief Returning Officer for Osun gubernatorial election, Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, announced the result Sunday Morning.

He said the PDP candidate, Adeleke, scored a total of 403,371 votes to emerge the winner, while the incumbent Governor, Gboyega Oyetola of the All-Progressives Congress (APC), polled 375,027 votes.

The Chief returning officer said: I hereby declare that Ademola Adeleke “having satisfied the requirement of the law is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected.

None of the other 13 candidates who took part in the election won in any local government.

A total of 15 political parties took part in the election held on Saturday across the 30 local governments of Osun.

Many observers described the election as free of violence but characterized by vote buying.

The two leading candidates had also squared off in the 2018 governorship election in the state which was narrowly won by Mr Oyetola, although in controversial circumstances.

Mr Adeleke, a former senator, would see his victory in the latest election as a vindication that he was the original winner of the 2018 election.

Mr Adeleke will not, however, be sworn in until November when the tenure of Mr Oyetola is over.

APC- 375027

PDP -403,371


You may also like

Leave a Comment