Home Sports Banyana Banyana emerge champions of Aisha Buhari Cup

Banyana Banyana emerge champions of Aisha Buhari Cup

by admin
0 comment

Banyana Banyana of South Africa, on Tuesday, emerged champions of the maiden edition of the Aisha Buhari Invitational Women’s Tournament after defeating the Super Falcons of Nigeria by 4-2 in the final game.

The match, played at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena, Lagos, saw the two top teams in women’s football on the African continent at the moment, Nigeria and South Africa, face off in what was an explosive battle.

The Super Falcons, nine-time champions of Africa, narrowly edged the Banyana on penalties in the finals of the 2018 Women AFCON in Ghana, after both teams could not be separated in regulation and extra time.

To reach the final encounter against the South Africans, in today’s game, the Super Falcons defeated the Female Eagles of Mali 2-0, both goals coming off substitute Gift Monday late in the second half of the opening fixture.

While Banyana Banyana came into the clash on the back of a 3-0 win over Ghana in their opening encounter.

The South Africans were truly dominant and impressive in their demolition of Ghana’s Black Queens.

Banyana Banyana were gifted their opening goal in the early stages of the half courtesy of an own goal through Alozie Chidi in the 5th minute.

It got better for Desiree Ellis’ charges after Linda Motlhalo slotted home from the penalty spot in the 17th minute after Ebi Onome handled the ball in the box.

While Nigeria had a goal disallowed midway into the game, Banyana Banyana went on to bag a third goal three minutes before the halftime break thanks to Gabriel Salgado’s effort.

Vivian Ikechukwu gave the Super Falcons a life line after pulling a goal back shortly after the break in the 47th minute and the striker further reduced the deficit to one goal, when she got her second goal in the 53rd minute.

While the Super Falcons were unable to add to their tally for the remainder of the second half, Banyana Banyana were awarded a second penalty that was converted by Mamello Makhabane in the 86th minute to seal the win.

The six-team invitational tournament, which featured Nigeria, Ghana, Mali, South Africa, Cameroon and Morocco, kicked off on Sept. 15 and ended on Tuesday.

You may also like

Leave a Comment